top of page

Pathways to Certification in Clinical Anaplastology

The Board for Certification in Clinical Anaplastology (BCCA) is the only certifying body for clinical anaplastology in the world 

The BCCA maintains all those providing anaplastology services be required to have the CCA designation to indicate they possess the minimum level of professional competency that the BCCA has determined is required for patient care.

The BCCA holds the position that all those presenting themselves as the executors of facial and external soft tissue somato (body) prostheses be the actual clinical executor and fabricator of the said prosthesis as a matter of professional ethics and as a guarantor to the public of the skills and competency of the professional delivering anaplastology services.  

The Board for Certification in Clinical Anaplastology (BCCA) developed the CCA certification process following the rigorous certifying protocols set out by the Institute for Credentialing Excellence.

Although based in the USA, the BCCA certifies clinical anaplastologists world wide and the CCA designation is formal recognition that an entry-level anaplastologist professional has met the eligibility requirements, including formal education and subsequent supervised practice in a clinical setting, and passed the CCA certifying examination.

The CCA designation was developed to be an important criteria for government regulators and government and private insurance payers to determine the competency and scope of providers of facial and somatic prostheses. The BCCA supports the position that government agencies and government and private payers require all anaplastology providers  have the CCA designation.

The CCA designation enables patients to feel confident that anaplastology providers have the clinical skills and knowledge required to design and fabricate facial and other types of soft tissue somatic prostheses.

 Pathways to Certification 

Similar to other medical fields, anaplastology is a dynamic profession that is continuously evolving in response to the needs of patient and the availability of new technologies that enable practitioners to provide better patient care.


The Board for Certification in Clinical Anaplastology (BCCA) is a certifying body that defines and quantifies the skills required for competency in anaplastology. The BCCA is not a school.


Certified Clinical Anaplastologists can enter the field from several different educational backgrounds before they undergo their clinical training, creating an exciting field with professionals that have a diverse range of skills that are organized around core competencies that have been identified and quantified by the BCCA.


This breadth produces a field that is rich in diversity with Certified Clinical Anaplastologists who can respond to today’s healthcare needs and who continue to develop their skills with continuous education so they can meet the needs of tomorrow's patients .


By acting as a certifying body,  the BCCA enables anaplastology practitioners worldwide to complete their educational requirements and gain their clinical experience wherever they live.  The  BCCA exam and required portfolio submission of completed patient cases are used to validate their achievements  and their competency and enables the BCCA to confer the coveted CCA designation.

We invite you to join this community. 

Pathways to Certification 

The following diagram shows the educational pathways that  lead to Certification in Clinical Anaplastology.  All applicants must take the exam and present a portfolio. 

fuck 2.png

For information on eligibility and the application process, click here. 

For information on the portfolio and written exam, click here. 

bottom of page